Gene Regulation Research Area

Researchers interested in Gene Regulation

Daniel Amador-Noguez

Email: amadornoguez@wisc.edu

Website
Bacteriology
Metabolic regulation in biofuels

Huy Dinh

Email: huy.dinh@wisc.edu

Website
Oncology
Unraveling immune microenvironment heterogeneity and plasticity in health and cancer

Tim Donohue

Email: tdonohue@bact.wisc.edu

Website
Bacteriology
Bacterial renewable energy strategies

Johanna Elfenbein

Email: jelfenbein@wisc.edu

Website
Pathobiological Sciences
Molecular mechanisms of Salmonella gut colonization and transmission

Marta Gaglia

Email: Marta.Gaglia@wisc.edu

Website
Medical Microbiology and Immunology
Virus-cell interactions in influenza A virus and oncogenic herpesviruses

Audrey Gasch

Email: agasch@wisc.edu

Website
Genetics
Genomic expression in fungi

Richard Gourse

Email: rgourse@bact.wisc.edu

Website
Bacteriology
Prokaryotic transcription/regulation of ribosome synthesis

David Hershey

Email: dhershey@wisc.edu

Website
Bacteriology
Mechanisms of surface colonization in bacteria

Chris Hittinger

Email: cthittinger@wisc.edu

Website
Genetics
Evolutionary genomics and synthetic biology of yeast carbon metabolism

Andrew Hryckowian

Email: hryckowian@medicine.wisc.edu

Website
Medicine/Medical Microbiology and Immunology
Gut microbiome-host interactions

Christina Hull

Email: cmhull@wisc.edu

Website
Biomolecular Chemistry/Medical Microbiology and Immunology
Molecular mechanisms of development and disease among human fungal pathogens

Tu Anh Huynh

Email: thuynh6@wisc.edu

Website
Food Science
Mechanisms of bacterial signaling, adaptation, pathogenesis, and antibiotic resistance

Nancy Keller

Email: npkeller@wisc.edu

Website
Medical Microbiology and Immunology
Host and pathogen signals governing pathogenesis by fungi

Patricia Kiley

Email: pjkiley@wisc.edu

Website
Biomolecular Chemistry
Transcriptional control of anaerobic gene expression in E. coli

Laura Knoll

Email: ljknoll@wisc.edu

Website
Medical Microbiology and Immunology
Molecular mechanisms of development and pathogenesis of Toxoplasma gondii

Robert Landick

Email: landick@bact.wisc.edu

Website
Biochemistry
Transcriptional regulation/RNA polymerase structure and function

Kinjal Majumder

Email: kmajumder@wisc.edu

Website
Molecular Virology and Oncology
How viruses navigate the nuclear environment to establish viral replication centers.

Mark Mandel

Email: mmandel@wisc.edu

Website
Medical Microbiology and Immunology
Bacterial colonization of host epithelial tissue, Vibrio fischeri-squid symbiosis

Elebeoba May

Email: emay5@wisc.edu

Website
Medical Microbiology and Immunology
Multi-scale, predictive models of host-pathogen interactions and biological systems

Megan McClean

Email: mmcclean@wisc.edu

Website
Biomedical Engineering
Microfluidic and optogenetic tools for studying microbial signal processing

Katherine McMahon

Email: trina.mcmahon@wisc.edu

Website
Bacteriology/Civil and Environmental Engineering
Environmental microbiology and molecular microbial ecology

Donna Neumann

Email: dneumann3@wisc.edu

Website
Ophthalmalogy and Visual Sciences
Epigenetic and 3-dimensional chromatin control of Herpes virus transcriptional programs

Caitlin Pepperell

Email: cspepper@medicine.wisc.edu

Website
Medicine/Medical Microbiology and Immunology
Ecology and evolution of infectious diseases

Jason Peters

Email: jason.peters@wisc.edu

Website
Pharmacy
CRISPR-based exploration of biological networks in antibiotic-resistant and biofuel-relevant bacteria

Brian Pfleger

Email: pfleger@engr.wisc.edu

Website
Chemical Engineering
Synthetic biology, metabolic and protein engineering, natural products

JD Sauer

Email: sauer3@wisc.edu

Website
Medical Microbiology and Immunology
Bacterial pathogenesis

Vanessa Sperandio

Email: vsperandio@wisc.edu

Website
Medical Microbiology and Immunology
Enteric pathogens sensing and responding within the intestine.

Garret Suen

Email: gsuen@wisc.edu

Website
Bacteriology
Symbiotic microbes and microbial communities associated with herbivores

Adel Talaat

Email: atalaat@wisc.edu

Website
Pathobiological Sciences
Molecular pathogenesis of tuberculosis and paratuberculosis

Ophelia Venturelli

Email: venturelli@wisc.edu

Website
Biochemistry
Microbial communities, microbial metabolism, host-microbe interactions, microbiome engineering

Jade Wang

Email: jade.wang@wisc.edu

Website
Bacteriology
Nucleotide signaling, Antibiotic persistence and resistance, Mechanisms of microbial evolution

Jon Woods

Email: jpwoods@wisc.edu

Website
Medical Microbiology and Immunology
Pathogenic mechanisms host-parasite interactions

Timothy Yoshino

Email: tim.yoshino@wisc.edu

Website
Pathobiological Sciences
Cellular and molecular biology of schistosome blood fluke-snail host interactions

Jae-Hyuk Yu

Email: jyu1@wisc.edu

Website
Bacteriology
Molecular genetics of asexual sporulation and mycotoxin biosynthesis in filamentous fungi