Genomics Research Area

Researchers interested in Genomics

Daniel Amador-Noguez

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: amadornoguez@wisc.edu

Website
Bacteriology
Metabolic regulation in biofuels

Karthik Anantharaman

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: karthik@bact.wisc.edu

Website
Bacteriology
Microbial ecology, community interactions, biogeochemistry and metagenomics

Kerri Coon

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: kerri.coon@wisc.edu

Website
Bacteriology
Insect-microbe interactions, impacts of gut microbes on the biology of disease vectors

Cameron Currie

Position title: Professor

Email: currie@bact.wisc.edu

Website
Bacteriology
Microbial ecology and evolution, symbiosis, evolutionary genomics, and host-pathogen interactions

Audrey Gasch

Position title: Professor

Email: agasch@wisc.edu

Website
Genetics
Genomic expression in fungi

Jo Handelsman

Position title: Professor

Email: jo.handelsman@wisc.edu

Website
Plant Pathology
Genetic and biochemical processes within plant and human microbiomes

Chris Hittinger

Position title: Associate Professor

Email: cthittinger@wisc.edu

Website
Genetics
Diversity and evolution of yeast carbon metabolism

Yun Liang

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: liang95@wisc.edu

Website
Medical Microbiology and Immunology
Molecular basis for sex differences in immune responses; inflammation and autoimmunity

Kinjal Majumder

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: kmajumder@wisc.edu

Website
Molecular Virology and Oncology
How viruses navigate the nuclear environment to establish viral replication centers.

Mark Mandel

Position title: Associate Professor

Email: mmandel@wisc.edu

Website
Medical Microbiology and Immunology
Bacterial colonization of host epithelial tissue, Vibrio fischeri-squid symbiosis

Katherine McMahon

Position title: Professor

Email: trina.mcmahon@wisc.edu

Website
Civil and Environmental Engineering
Environmental microbiology and molecular microbial ecology

Caitlin Pepperell

Position title: Associate Professor

Email: cspepper@medicine.wisc.edu

Website
Medicine/Medical Microbiology and Immunology
Ecology and evolution of infectious diseases

Jason Peters

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: jason.peters@wisc.edu

Website
Pharmacy
CRISPR-based exploration of biological networks in antibiotic-resistant and biofuel-relevant bacteria

Brian Pfleger

Position title: Professor

Email: pfleger@engr.wisc.edu

Website
Chemical Engineering
Synthetic biology, metabolic and protein engineering, natural products

Anne Pringle

Position title: Professor

Email: apringle2@wisc.edu

Website
Botany and Bacteriology
Evolution and ecology of natural populations of fungi

Vatsan Raman

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: sraman4@wisc.edu

Website
Biochemistry
Design of synthetic bacteriophages for therapy and microbiome editing, engineering microbial transcription, protein design

Sushmita Roy

Position title: Associate Professor

Email: sroy8@wisc.edu

Website
Biostatistics and Medical Informatics
Inference and analysis of structure, function and evolution of regulatory networks

David Schwartz

Position title: Professor

Email: dcschwartz@wisc.edu

Website
Genetics
Development of new genomic approaches to important biological problems

Nathaniel Sharp

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: nathaniel.sharp@wisc.edu

Website
Genetics
Evolutionary genetics of spontaneous mutation

Garret Suen

Position title: Associate Professor

Email: gsuen@wisc.edu

Website
Bacteriology
Symbiotic microbes and microbial communities associated with herbivores

Adel Talaat

Position title: Professor

Email: atalaat@wisc.edu

Website
Pathobiological Sciences
Molecular pathogenesis of tuberculosis and paratuberculosis

Michael Thomas

Position title: Professor

Email: michael.thomas@wisc.edu

Website
Bacteriology
Biosynthesis of bacterial secondary metabolites

JP van Pijkeren

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: vanpijkeren@wisc.edu

Website
Food Science
Microbiota-host interactions and development of biotherapeutics

Ophelia Venturelli

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: venturelli@wisc.edu

Website
Biochemistry
Synthetic biology of microbial consortia, design and analysis of gene regulatory networks

Jade Wang

Position title: Professor

Email: jade.wang@wisc.edu

Website
Bacteriology
Bacterial stress response, replication transcription conflict, genome stability

Thea Whitman

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: twhitman@wisc.edu

Website
Soil Science
Microbial ecology, terrestrial biogeochemistry, bioinformatics, and stable isotopes

Mostafa Zamanian

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: mzamanian@wisc.edu

Website
Pathobiological Sciences
The study and treatment of parasite (helminth) infections