Genomics Research Area

Researchers interested in Genomics

Daniel Amador-Noguez

Position title: Associate Professor

Email: amadornoguez@wisc.edu

Website
Bacteriology
Metabolic regulation in biofuels

Karthik Anantharaman

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: karthik@bact.wisc.edu

Website
Bacteriology
Microbial and viral ecology, bioinformatics and metagenomics, sulfur metabolism, biogeochemistry

Kerri Coon

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: kerri.coon@wisc.edu

Website
Bacteriology
Insect-microbe interactions, impacts of gut microbes on the biology of disease vectors

Huy Dinh

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: huy.dinh@wisc.edu

Website
Oncology
Unraveling immune microenvironment heterogeneity and plasticity in health and cancer

Audrey Gasch

Position title: Professor

Email: agasch@wisc.edu

Website
Genetics
Genomic expression in fungi

Jo Handelsman

Position title: Professor

Email: jo.handelsman@wisc.edu

Website
Plant Pathology
Genetic and biochemical processes within plant and human microbiomes

David Hershey

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: dhershey@wisc.edu

Website
Bacteriology
Mechanisms of surface colonization in bacteria

Gaelen Hess

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: ghess3@wisc.edu

Website
Biomolecular Chemistry
Molecular Mechanisms of Secreted Effectors from Bacterial Pathogens

Chris Hittinger

Position title: Professor

Email: cthittinger@wisc.edu

Website
Genetics
Evolutionary genomics and synthetic biology of yeast carbon metabolism

Betül Kaçar

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: bkacar@wisc.edu

Website
Bacteriology
Origins and early evolution of life, ancient proteins, functional evolution over geologic time

Jason Kwan

Position title: Associate Professor

Email: jason.kwan@wisc.edu

Website
Pharmacy
How and why uncultured bacteria produce bioactive small molecules

Yun Liang

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: liang95@wisc.edu

Website
Medical Microbiology and Immunology
Molecular basis for sex differences in immune responses; inflammation and autoimmunity

Kinjal Majumder

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: kmajumder@wisc.edu

Website
Molecular Virology and Oncology
How viruses navigate the nuclear environment to establish viral replication centers.

Mark Mandel

Position title: Associate Professor

Email: mmandel@wisc.edu

Website
Medical Microbiology and Immunology
Bacterial colonization of host epithelial tissue, Vibrio fischeri-squid symbiosis

Katherine McMahon

Position title: Professor

Email: trina.mcmahon@wisc.edu

Website
Bacteriology/Civil and Environmental Engineering
Environmental microbiology and molecular microbial ecology

David O'Connor

Position title: Professor

Email: dhoconno@wisc.edu

Website
Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Genomics, pathogenesis, and immunology of viral diseases

Caitlin Pepperell

Position title: Associate Professor

Email: cspepper@medicine.wisc.edu

Website
Medicine/Medical Microbiology and Immunology
Ecology and evolution of infectious diseases

Jason Peters

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: jason.peters@wisc.edu

Website
Pharmacy
CRISPR-based exploration of biological networks in antibiotic-resistant and biofuel-relevant bacteria

Brian Pfleger

Position title: Professor

Email: pfleger@engr.wisc.edu

Website
Chemical Engineering
Synthetic biology, metabolic and protein engineering, natural products

Anne Pringle

Position title: Professor

Email: apringle2@wisc.edu

Website
Botany and Bacteriology
Evolution and ecology of natural populations of fungi

Vatsan Raman

Position title: Associate Professor

Email: sraman4@wisc.edu

Website
Biochemistry
Understanding bacteriophage-host interactions, designing bacteriophages to combat bacterial pathogens and for precision microbiome editing

David Schwartz

Position title: Professor

Email: dcschwartz@wisc.edu

Website
Genetics
Development of new genomic approaches to important biological problems

Nathaniel Sharp

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: nathaniel.sharp@wisc.edu

Website
Genetics
Evolutionary genetics of spontaneous mutation

Garret Suen

Position title: Associate Professor

Email: gsuen@wisc.edu

Website
Bacteriology
Symbiotic microbes and microbial communities associated with herbivores

Adel Talaat

Position title: Professor

Email: atalaat@wisc.edu

Website
Pathobiological Sciences
Molecular pathogenesis of tuberculosis and paratuberculosis

Michael Thomas

Position title: Professor

Email: michael.thomas@wisc.edu

Website
Bacteriology
Biosynthesis of bacterial secondary metabolites

Victor Ujor

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: ujor@wisc.edu

Website
Food Science
Metabolic engineering towards bioconversion of organic residues to fuels and chemicals.

JP van Pijkeren

Position title: Associate Professor

Email: vanpijkeren@wisc.edu

Website
Food Science
Microbiota-host interactions and development of biotherapeutics

Ophelia Venturelli

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: venturelli@wisc.edu

Website
Biochemistry
Microbial communities, microbial metabolism, host-microbe interactions, microbiome engineering

Jade Wang

Position title: Professor

Email: jade.wang@wisc.edu

Website
Bacteriology
Nucleotide signaling, Antibiotic persistence and resistance, Mechanisms of microbial evolution

Thea Whitman

Position title: Associate Professor

Email: twhitman@wisc.edu

Website
Soil Science
Microbial ecology, terrestrial biogeochemistry, bioinformatics, and stable isotopes

Mostafa Zamanian

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: mzamanian@wisc.edu

Website
Pathobiological Sciences
The study and treatment of parasite (helminth) infections