Microbial Pathogenesis Research Area

Researchers interested in Microbial Pathogenesis

Caitilyn Allen

Position title: Professor

Email: callen@wisc.edu

Website
Plant Pathology
Physiology and genetics of bacterial plant pathogens

David Andes

Position title: Professor

Email: dra@medicine.wisc.edu

Website
Medicine/Medical Microbiology and Immunology
Antifungal activity and drug resistance

Helen Blackwell

Position title: Professor

Email: blackwell@chem.wisc.edu

Website
Chemistry
Quorum sensing in animal and plant-associated bacteria, artificial bacterial signaling molecules

Curtis Brandt

Position title: Professor

Email: crbrandt@wisc.edu

Website
Ophthalmology/Medical Microbiology and Immunology
Virology, pathogenesis of herpes simplex virus, gene therapy and antiviral drugs

Silvia Cavagnero

Position title: Professor

Email: cavagnero@chem.wisc.edu

Website
Chemistry
Mechanism of protein folding, misfolding and aggregation in the bacterial cell

Charles Czuprynski

Position title: Professor

Email: charles.czuprynski@wisc.edu

Website
Pathobiological Sciences
Immunology and pathogenic bacteria

Joseph Dillard

Position title: Professor

Email: jpdillard@wisc.edu

Website
Medical Microbiology and Immunology
Molecular mechanisms of disease caused by the bacterium Neisseria gonorrhoeae

Johanna Elfenbein

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: jelfenbein@wisc.edu

Website
Pathobiological Sciences
Molecular mechanisms of Salmonella gut colonization and transmission

Katrina Forest

Position title: Professor

Email: forest@bact.wisc.edu

Website
Bacteriology
Structural biology of pathogenesis

Thomas Friedrich

Position title: Professor

Email: tfriedri@wisc.edu

Website
Pathobiological Science
Immunity to pandemic viruses: HIV and influenza

Paul Friesen

Position title: Professor

Email: pfriesen@wisc.edu

Website
Biochemistry
Molecular biology of eukaryotic DNA viruses, apoptosis and retrotransposons

Thaddeus (Ted) Golos

Position title: Professor

Email: golos@primate.wisc.edu

Website
Comparative Bioscience
Biology of the maternal-fetal interface

Katie Henzler-Wildman

Position title: Associate Professor

Email: henzlerwildm@wisc.edu

Website
Biochemistry
Molecular mechanisms of drug efflux and bacterial secondary active transport

Andrew Hryckowian

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: hryckowian@medicine.wisc.edu

Website
Medicine/Medical Microbiology and Immunology
Gut microbiome-host interactions

Christina Hull

Position title: Professor

Email: cmhull@wisc.edu

Website
Biomolecular Chemistry
Molecular biology of human fungal pathogens

Tu Anh Huynh

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: thuynh6@wisc.edu

Website
Food Science
Bacterial signal transduction, bacterial pathogenesis and stress response

Eric Johnson

Position title: Professor

Email: eajohnso@wisc.edu

Website
Bacteriology
Clostridium botulinum and its toxins; food and industrial microbiology

Lindsay Kalan

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: lkalan@wisc.edu

Website
Medical Microbiology and Immunology
Skin microbiome in health and disease, host-microbe/microbe-microbe interactions

Yoshihiro Kawaoka

Position title: Professor

Email: kawaokay@svm.vetmed.wisc.edu

Website
Pathobiological Sciences
Molecular mechanism of interspecies transmission of virus leading to pandemics in humans

Bruce Klein

Position title: Professor

Email: bsklein@wisc.edu

Website
Pediatrics/Medical Microbiology and Immunology
Microbial-host interactions and pathogenesis

Laura Knoll

Position title: Professor

Email: ljknoll@wisc.edu

Website
Medical Microbiology and Immunology
Molecular mechanisms of development and pathogenesis of Toxoplasma gondii

Jeniel Nett

Position title: Associate Professor

Email: jenett@medicine.wisc.edu

Website
Medicine/Medical Microbiology and Immunology
Immune responses to fungal biofilm infection

David O'Connor

Position title: Professor

Email: dhoconno@wisc.edu

Website
Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Genetics and immunology of HIV

Shelby O'Connor

Position title: Associate Professor

Email: slfeinberg@wisc.edu

Website
Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Host and vaccine-elicited immune responses to SIV/HIV

Matt Reynolds

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: mrreynol@wisc.edu

Website
Pathobiological Sciences
Investigate adaptive immune responses to prevent or eliminate AIDS virus infections

Wilmara Salgado-Pabón

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: wsalgado@wisc.edu

Website
Pathobiological Sciences
Pathogenesis of Staphylococcus aureus

JD Sauer

Position title: Associate Professor

Email: sauer3@wisc.edu

Website
Medical Microbiology and Immunology
Bacterial pathogenesis

Judy Smith

Position title: Associate Professor

Email: jsmith27@pediatrics.wisc.edu

Website
Pediatrics/Medical Microbiology and Immunology
The intersection of endoplasmic reticulum stress, infectious and inflammatory diseases

Adel Talaat

Position title: Professor

Email: atalaat@wisc.edu

Website
Pathobiological Sciences
Molecular pathogenesis of tuberculosis and paratuberculosis

Rodney Welch

Position title: Professor

Email: rawelch@wisc.edu

Website
Medical Microbiology and Immunology
Molecular analysis of bacteria pathogens

Thea Whitman

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: twhitman@wisc.edu

Website
Soil Science
Microbial ecology, terrestrial biogeochemistry, bioinformatics, and stable isotopes

Jon Woods

Position title: Professor

Email: jpwoods@wisc.edu

Website
Medical Microbiology and Immunology
Pathogenic mechanisms host-parasite interactions