Virology Research Area

Researchers interested in Virology

Paul Ahlquist

Position title: Professor

Email: ahlquist@wisc.edu

Website
Molecular Virology
Molecular mechanisms of viral replication host interactions and oncogenesis

Karthik Anantharaman

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: karthik@bact.wisc.edu

Website
Bacteriology
Microbial ecology, community interactions, biogeochemistry and metagenomics

Curtis Brandt

Position title: Professor

Email: crbrandt@wisc.edu

Website
Ophthalmology/Medical Microbiology and Immunology
Virology, pathogenesis of herpes simplex virus, gene therapy and antiviral drugs

David Evans

Position title: Professor

Email: dtevans2@wisc.edu

Website
Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Host-pathogen interactions for the human and simian immunodeficiency viruses

Thomas Friedrich

Position title: Professor

Email: tfriedri@wisc.edu

Website
Pathobiological Science
Immunity to pandemic viruses: HIV and influenza

Paul Friesen

Position title: Professor

Email: pfriesen@wisc.edu

Website
Biochemistry
Molecular biology of eukaryotic DNA viruses, apoptosis and retrotransposons

Tony Goldberg

Position title: Professor

Email: tony.goldberg@wisc.edu

Website
Pathobiological Sciences
Ecology and evolution of infectious diseases

Robert Kalejta

Position title: Professor

Email: rfkalejta@wisc.edu

Website
Oncology
Viral modulation of the cell cycle

Yoshihiro Kawaoka

Position title: Professor

Email: kawaokay@svm.vetmed.wisc.edu

Website
Pathobiological Sciences
Molecular mechanism of interspecies transmission of virus leading to pandemics in humans

Shannon Kenney

Position title: Professor

Email: skenney@wisc.edu

Website
Oncology
Epstein-Barr virus pathogenesis and treatment

Dan Loeb

Position title: Professor

Email: loeb@oncology.wisc.edu

Website
Oncology
Hepatitis B viruses

Kinjal Majumder

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: kmajumder@wisc.edu

Website
Molecular Virology and Oncology
How viruses navigate the nuclear environment to establish viral replication centers.

Andrew Mehle

Position title: Associate Professor

Email: amehle@wisc.edu

Website
Medical Microbiology and Immunology
Influenza virus polymerase

Donna Neumann

Position title: Associate Professor

Email: dneumann3@wisc.edu

Website
Ophthalmalogy and Visual Sciences
Epigenetic and 3-dimensional chromatin control of Herpes virus transcriptional programs

Shelby O'Connor

Position title: Associate Professor

Email: slfeinberg@wisc.edu

Website
Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Host and vaccine-elicited immune responses to SIV/HIV

Matt Reynolds

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: mrreynol@wisc.edu

Website
Pathobiological Sciences
Investigate adaptive immune responses to prevent or eliminate AIDS virus infections

Nathan Sherer

Position title: Associate Professor

Email: nsherer@wisc.edu

Website
Oncology
HIV-1 RNA trafficking, virus-host interactions

Marulasiddappa Suresh

Position title: Professor

Email: suresh.marulasiddappa@wisc.edu

Website
Pathobiological Sciences
Regulation of T-cell proliferation, apoptosis and memory